The Year in Review

If you had told me, at the beginning of last year, that in a year I’d be the editor of a science fiction magazine, that had already published two issues, that had published fiction by Lavie Tidhar and Megan Arkenberg, and was about to publish stories by Cat Rambo and Nancy Fulda, I probably wouldn’t have believed you.

It’s been a tough year, and a weird one. I’ve moved houses, changed jobs, and read more short stories than I ever thought physically possible. I’ve missed deadlines, banged my head in frustration while fixing typos at three in the morning, and hand moments of sheer panic.

But it’s also been amazing. I’ve been so lucky to have such an amazing response towards Basement Stories – from readers and writers – and to have a kickass partner-in-crime in my fellow editor, James Dent. I’m so excited about what we’ve got in store for 2011, and beyond.

For the statistically minded, some raw data is below.

In 2010, we had:

1,800 visitors to the blog

5,900 visitors to the website

14,000 pageviews

1,277 submissions

14 short stories, 8 poems, and 2 pieces of art published.

 

Man, just looking at that makes me kind of tired.

Here’s to 2011 being just as interesting.

 

 

Comments
3 Responses to “The Year in Review”
  1. DED says:

    Those are impressive stats for a start-up zine. Good job!

  2. Rose says:

    Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

  3. DED says:

    Have you noticed how much smarter blogspam has become?

Leave a Reply

  • The contents of this website are copyright 2011 by Basement Stories, and the respective authors of the works published by Basement Stories.
